About Us

What is Acacia?

Acacia is an international Greek-system fraternity founded on its motto, human service. Acacia is comprised of the highest quality men on each campus, hoping to instill its values of Brotherhood, Scholarship, and Service into hearts of the college community.

Acacia is not your typical college fraternity. It isn’t the oldest, the largest, or the most famous, but its heritage is distinct and record distinguished. Members of Acacia strive to be extraordinary and dispel the stereotypes that are often associated with fraternities. Every member, from pledge to active brother, is treated with the utmost respect. Our pledge program focuses on learning your way into the fraternity, not earning it by participating in degrading acts. Illegal activities and irresponsible behavior have no place in Acacia.

The history of Acacia Fraternity is a rich one—and one you will learn much about in the pledge program. The fraternity was founded in 1904 at the University of Michigan by 14 men hoping to establish a new type of fraternity experience. Just three years later, the Purdue chapter was chartered in 1907 and has been in West Lafayette ever since. The Purdue chapter has continually occupied their current chapter house at 608 Waldron St. for over 60 years, but the house is constantly added to by the chapter, with wall art and painted doors common throughout the house. The chapter lives among the history left by generations of proud Acacians, but also continues to add to that tradition.

Current House Officers

Venerable Dean
Mr. Mason Anthony Merkel
Purdue (Purdue University)
Senior Dean
Mr. John Samuel Taylor
Purdue (Purdue University)
Junior Dean
Mr. Jackson Steven Weber
Purdue (Purdue University)
Recruitment Chair
Mr. Andrew John Askounis
Purdue (Purdue University)
Mr. Jared Matthew Young
Purdue (Purdue University)
Mr. Mason James Meeker
Purdue (Purdue University)
Risk Manager
Mr. Matthew Christopher Clifford, MCC
Purdue (Purdue University)
Philanthropy-Human Service Chair
Mr. Jack Ryan Dennis
Purdue (Purdue University)
House Manager
Mr. Adam Laurence Jones
Purdue (Purdue University)
Cornerstones Chair
Mr. Kaleb Edward Dunn
Purdue (Purdue University)
Alumni Relations
Mr. Matthew Nolan Sauchelli
Purdue (Purdue University)
Mr. Alexander John Cook
Purdue (Purdue University)



2020 Acacia International Biennial Conclave Awards


Chapter Programming/Membership Education Recipient 

Membership Recruitment Recipient

Human Service Programming Recipient

Pledge Education Recipient


2020 Executive Director Award Recipient 


Community Service


Fall 2021-

605 Total Community Service Hours

14 Service Hours Per Brother in Comparison to IFC Avg. 4.5




7th Highest IFC Fall 2021 Semester GPA

Preamble to “Laws of Acacia”

“We students, faculty, and alumni of various universities and colleges do hereby adopt this Constitution; to strengthen the ties of friendship, one with another; to prepare ourselves as educated men; to take a more active part and have a greater influence in the affairs of the community in which we may reside; and, above all, to seek the truth, and knowing it, to give light to those with whom we may be associated as we travel along life’s pathway.”

Acacia Facts

Founded internationally: May 12, 1904
Founded locally: October 11, 1907
Colors: Black and Old Gold
Flower: Sprig of Acacia in bloom
Motto: Ophelountes Anthropous, “Human Service”

Notable Alumni Brothers of the International Fraternity

Brother William H. Taft, Yale 1913 – 27th President of the US
Brother William Jennings Bryan, Nebraska 1908 – Great American Leader and Orator
Brother Clifton Hillegass, Nebraska 1938 – Founder of Cliffs Notes
Brother Jack Kilby, Illinois 1942 – Nobel Prize Winner in Physics
Brother Roscoe Pound, Harvard 1905 – American legal scholar and educator
Brother Paul McNutt, Harvard 1914 – Governor of Indiana, Ambassador to the Philippines
Brother Hiram Bingham, Yale 1915 – Discoverer of Machu Picchu, Governor of Connecticut, US Senator
Brother Harold E. Edgerton, Nebraska 1924 – Scientist and Inventor
Brother James Webb, North Carolina 1928 – NASA Administrator
Brother William Thornberry, Texas 1930 – United States Representative
Brother Calvin Griffith, George Washington 1935 – Owner of the Minnesota Twins
Brother Gene Conley, Washington State 1949 – MLB Pitcher (Braves) and NBA player (Celtics)

Capital Improvement Pictures

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Cras sollicitudin magna id mauris consequat, at iaculis nisl laoreet. Proin nec dapibus est, a imperdiet justo. Duis scelerisque vitae nisl eget blandit. Suspendisse nec lobortis tortor, in malesuada metus. Proin ut erat vitae magna ullamcorper ornare. Etiam vel ligula velit. Vestibulum tincidunt dui est, ac vulputate dui maximus ut. Sed odio nunc, tempus sit amet nunc id, tincidunt euismod enim. Nunc sodales mollis auctor. Aliquam erat volutpat. Nullam faucibus diam sit amet ex pellentesque, non auctor nisi pharetra. Cras nec orci nec orci tempor tincidunt sit amet ut augue.